WCRI Webinar Informs Long-Standing Policy Discussion over Choice of…

Cambridge, MA (PRWEB) May 24, 2017
Should the choice of provider in workers’ compensation cases be left to workers or employers? The Workers Compensation Research Institute (WCRI) will share its latest research informing this question during a 45-minute webinar on Wednesday, June  14, 2017, at 2 p.m. ET (1 p.m. CT, 12 noon MT, and 11 a.m. PT). The webinar will be hosted by Dr. Bogdan Savych, a public policy analyst at WCRI.
“This webinar will present research results that inform a long-standing policy discussion over whether the choice of provider in workers’ compensation cases should be left to workers or to employers. The research we will be discussing offers nuanced evidence about how provider choice policies are related to workers’ compensation medical and indemnity costs. Those who attend this webinar will learn about these nuances so they can focus on issues that will lead to better outcomes for injured workers while containing costs,” said Dr. John Ruser, WCRI’s president and CEO.
The webinar will address the following questions:
What is the relationship between provider choice policies and workers’ compensation medical and indemnity costs?
Does the relationship differ by type of injury?
How does this study compare with a previous WCRI study on the relationship between actual choice and medical and indemnity costs?
The study discussed during the webinar, The Effects of Provider Choice Policies on Workers’ Compensation Costs, observes the effects on costs for injuries that occurred mostly between 2007 and 2010 across 25 states in which either employers or workers control the choice of provider. It excludes states where workers can choose a provider within their employers’ established network.
Webinars are $50 for Non-Members and free for WCRI Members, members of the press, legislators as well as their staff, and state public officials who make policy decisions regarding workers’ compensation. Attendance is limited to 100 people and all attendees receive a free copy of the slides. Click here to register.
About WCRI:
The Workers Compensation Research Institute (WCRI) is an independent, not-for-profit research organization based in Cambridge, MA. Organized in late 1983, the Institute does not take positions on the issues it researches; rather, it provides information obtained through studies and data collection efforts, which conform to recognized scientific methods. Objectivity is further ensured through rigorous, unbiased peer review procedures. WCRI’s diverse membership includes employers; insurers; governmental entities; managed care companies; health care providers; insurance regulators; state labor organizations; and state administrative agencies in the U.S., Canada, Australia, and New Zealand.

Share article on social media or email:

Powered by WPeMatico